| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Lyne Forum Newbie


Joined: Mar 17, 2003 Posts: 9 Location: Southern California, USA
|
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 4:32 pm Post subject: I clicked a link for my gallery comment and the FBI..!? |
|
|
OKay.. I am officially frightened... I got a notice that there was a comment for one of my images in the main gallery - in my yahoo e mail box...where I have gotten my AniMotions newsletters - clicked those..and gallery e mails before!! TODAY I CLICKED AND GOT THIS PAGE:
Referred from yahoo.com on Sun, 12 Feb 2006 15:28:59 -0800
The domain from whence you came is not allowed to link to this site.
The NSA, FBI and CIA have been informed of this incident.
United States Department of Justice ~~ Ref ID: USCCC 99KRQ-00A-C4.a.11.c(3)
Please refer to the above REFID in any correspondence and/or testimony concerning this case.
-----------------------------
I will NOT click from my mail box to come here for any reason until this is explained, made to go away.. is this a hacker thing???
Lyne |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Hasdrubal Forum Member


Joined: May 31, 2002 Posts: 638 Location: Planet Mongo
|
Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 8:00 pm Post subject: Re: I clicked a link for my gallery comment and the FBI..!? |
|
|
If it really was "The Feds", I doubt they would have sent any warning messages. You would already be sealed in a glass tube in the basement vault of Area 52. (Area 51 was merely a public hoax for the media.)
I have heard of some trojan horse and worm bundles that claimed to be from the CIA. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Lyne Forum Newbie


Joined: Mar 17, 2003 Posts: 9 Location: Southern California, USA
|
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:30 pm Post subject: Re: I clicked a link for my gallery comment and the FBI..!? |
|
|
Well it seems to me that the site here has been compramised? I mean, it was AniMotions that generated this page, AFTER I clicked to come here... is there anyone I should notify or point to this thread?
I realized later that the FBI was surely not interested in either this site or my yahoo mail...but still it makes me uneasy that your mail links are being re-directed.
Lyne |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
GlitchGirl Forum Member


Joined: Jun 28, 2004 Posts: 200 Location: between here and insanity
|
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't think Animotions was the one that was compromised. Like Hasdrubal said, I think there might be something already on your machine or network that tried to redirect or hitch a ride. (One of our "Brilliant" sales people at work let loose a worm hidden a word doc they didn't scan and it got onto the network - was a bastich to clean out of the system)
I honestly don't think that the FBI, CIA, PGA or whatever is in any way involved period.
Have you run Spybot or Adaware on your machine? Both are free and are good for cleaning out the dirt out there. Can't hurt.
Adaware: http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/
Spybot: http://www.safer-networking.org/ _________________ "Flash, quit heckling the supervillain!" - Green Lantern
The Ether Forge: http://www.stkp.com/POSER/ |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Lyne Forum Newbie


Joined: Mar 17, 2003 Posts: 9 Location: Southern California, USA
|
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 9:20 pm Post subject: Re: I clicked a link for my gallery comment and the FBI..!? |
|
|
Uh.. this is a YAHOO account...which never downloads into my own computer...I read the mail ON IT'S SERVER and the mail there is fine...and it's ONLY the Animotions one that WENT to the page where I copied the words down to report here... all my renderosity and other site's e mail notices that I click are working in perfect order.
OH well... never mind... I just thought I should report it in case others here had the same thing happen, and could not GET here (I logged in and came back, I did not click my e mail notice..and will not.) |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Lyne Forum Newbie


Joined: Mar 17, 2003 Posts: 9 Location: Southern California, USA
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Hasdrubal Forum Member


Joined: May 31, 2002 Posts: 638 Location: Planet Mongo
|
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:51 am Post subject: Re: I clicked a link for my gallery comment and the FBI..!? |
|
|
It's hard to tell who in the community might be hacking with fake messages. About two years I recieved a fake message with Sharby's address and name on it. I checked with him, and never opened it.
It could also be a worm reading some Poser user's email adresses and mailing itself. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
invader Forum Member


Joined: Jun 02, 2002 Posts: 41 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| You can also try Microsoft's anti spyware. I installed it on the pc's where I work. It does a good job, but nothing is foolproof |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
invader Forum Member


Joined: Jun 02, 2002 Posts: 41 Location: USA
|
Posted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| You can also try Microsoft's anti spyware. I installed it on the pc's where I work. It does a good job, but nothing is foolproof |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
x2000 Forum Member


Joined: May 31, 2002 Posts: 103 Location: Orbiting in a cloaked vessel
|
Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 2:08 pm Post subject: Re: I clicked a link for my gallery comment and the FBI..!? |
|
|
FWIW, the same thing happened to me just now. I got the same page, same ID# and all. Then I came here through my bookmark, signed in, and voila! Then the ebot link worked properly.
Weird. Really weird. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
DTHUREGRIF Site Admin


Joined: Jun 05, 2001 Posts: 462
|
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| We haven't been hacked, folks, and neither have you. That message was never intended to show up on ebot links. We're working on fixing it. Sorry for the scare. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|